Thursday, 20 July 2017

Senate confirms 8 INEC REC nominees

The Senate on Wednesday confirmed eight resident electoral commissioners (RECs) of the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC).

The upper chamber had earlier confirmed 15 out of the 27 nominees sent by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Chairman of the senate committee on INEC, Suleiman Nazif had said the remaining 12 were still undergoing screening.

The senator also said nomination of Mustapha Zubairu (Niger) was rejected because he is from the same senatorial district as Mohammed Haruna, national commissioner of INEC, north-central.

He explained that the committee was still making “consultations” on Mahmuda Isah (Kebbi) and Bello Mahmud (Zamfara).

The nomination of  Rufus Akeju was rejected after Abiodun Olujimi, senator representing Ekiti south, presented a court ruling against him.

The confirmed nominees include, Asmau Maikudi, Katsina; Sam Olumekun, Ondo; Riskuwa Shehu, Sokoto; Kasim Geidam, Yobe; Jibrin Zarewa, Kano; Abdulganiyu Raji, Oyo; Samuel Egwu, Kogi and Mike Igini, Delta.

Subscribe to Bishop Ikedi Blog
For Adverts Placement Or Free News Updates, Contact Us On WhatsApp: 07032803990, BBM Pin: D607D9B2, Email [email protected] To Publish Your Articles.

No comments:

Back to Top