Sunday, 10 March 2019

PDP candidate defeats incumbent APC senator in Ondo south re-run election

Nicholas Tofowomo, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP, has defeated incumbent senator, Yele Omogunwa of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the Ondo south senatorial election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared the election inconclusive in the district and scheduled a supplementary election for Saturday.

In the February 23 national assembly election, Tofowomo had polled 79,029 votes ahead of Omogunwa, who scored 51,993.

But Kayode Onifade, the returning officer for the senatorial district, had said the 28,047 votes cancelled were higher than the margin of 27,036 votes between Tofowomo and Omogunwa.

In the re-run on Saturday however, Tofowomo again defeated Omogunwa, polling 81,892 votes as against the APC candidate’s 55,610 votes.

“Having satisfied the law by having the highest number of votes in a concluded election, I hereby declare Tofowomo of the PDP winner and he is hereby returned elected,’’ Onifade said.

The PDP now has two seats at the senate as Ayo Akinyelure of the PDP defeated Tayo Alasoadura of the APC in Ondo central, while Ajayi Borrofice won his r
eelection bid Ondo north senatorial district.

Subscribe to Bishop Ikedi Blog
To receive alert from BishopIkediBlog, Adverts Placement, News, Articles & more, Contact via Whatsapp: 07032803990, email

No comments:

Back to Top