Tuesday, 11 June 2019

Femi Gbajabiamila elected speaker of the house of representatives

Lagos lawmaker, Femi Gbajabiamila has been elected speaker of the house of representatives.

The former majority leader in the house defeated Umar Bago, still of the APC, on Tuesday.

Like Senate President Ahmad Lawan, Gbajabiamila was the preferred candidate of the APC in 2015 but Yakubu Dogara, who was then of the APC, had teamed up with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to defeat him. Dogara had defeated him with just eight votes.

Gbaja, who was also the choice candidate of the leadership the APC for the speakership position this term, won 283 votes out of 358 vote cast. Umar Bago scored 76 votes.

While the sorting of votes was ongoing, Bago walked up to Gbajabiamila to congratulate him and this elicited a thunderous round of applause among their colleagues.

Gbajabiamila is representing Surulere constituency 1 in the federal house.

Subscribe to Bishop Ikedi Blog
To receive alert from Bishop Ikedi Blog, Adverts Placement, News, Articles & more, Contact via Whatsapp: 07032803990, email ikedirichy@gmail.com

No comments:

Back to Top