Tuesday, 11 June 2019

Ahmed Lawan emerges next Senate President

Senator Ahmed Lawan has been elected president of the 9th senate.

The lawmaker representing Yobe north senatorial district, secured 79 votes to defeat Ali Ndume from Borno south who polled 28 votes.

The Election of Senate President was held at the first session of the Senate on Tuesday.

After a secret ballot voting, the clerk to the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, announced Lawan’s victory to the cheers of Senators and others in the chamber.

Sani-Omolori said 107 senators cast their votes.

“It is my pleasure to announce that Senator elect, Ahmed Lawan, having scored the highest number of total votes cast is hereby returned duly elected as Senate President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” he said.

Former Senate Leader, Lawan is the favoured candidate of the All Progressives Congress(APC).

His nomination was moved in a motion by Senator Yahaya Abdullahi and seconded by Adeola Olamilaken of Lagos West.

Lawan has already taken his oath of office and assume his role.

Ike Ekweremadu and Ovie Omo-Agege has been nominated for deputy Senate president and voting is underway.

Subscribe to Bishop Ikedi Blog
To receive alert from Bishop Ikedi Blog, Adverts Placement, News, Articles & more, Contact via Whatsapp: 07032803990, email ikedirichy@gmail.com

No comments:

Back to Top